Skip to content

Faith to Do It

January 16, 2012

I’ve moved (again) to Alaska. The past few months have been a blur and to give you a quick look as to why, here’s the past few months (bullet point style):

* August 31 – Movers packed up the last of our belongings in Columbia, SC
* September 1 – Handed over the keys and title of my Mini Cooper to the new owner (the last possible day to sell the car and it sold! Never give up hope!)
* September 2 – Packed up the last of our belongings in our Honda Element and headed for our new home – Anchorage, Alaska
* September 2-12 – Spent the next 10 days traveling and visiting friends/family in Chicago, Wisconsin, Minnesota.
* September 12-19 – One week in the car traveling through Canada and Alaska
* September 19-October 2 – Found a home (but couldn’t move in) and nailed down the last of my to-do list before I left for Ethiopia (and getting used to one way streets in Anchorage)
* October 3 – Left my husband, new home, and pup for Ethiopia
* November 5 – Stepped off a plane and into a frozen land of snow and darkness, but the shining moment was seeing a smiling husband waiting for me.
* November-January 1 – A busy time getting Christmas presents in the mail and getting a home ready (Matt had to unpack all on his own since I left before the movers had arrived in Alaska).
* January 1-Present Day: Job Searching

I committed to finding a job after the 1st of the year. Man, it’s the pits. Ha!

I am looking for work with a NPO here in Anchorage or any NPO in the Lower 48 that will allow me to work from home.

Much easier said than done. I have no contacts. No connections. No networks here in Alaska.

I am looking to work for a NPO, water related or specific to the community here in Alaska, to gain experience in the non profit sector. To better understand the inner workings especially after coming from the “for profit” business world.

But the past few weeks have left me exhausted. Either the jobs are not within in Alaska or they are with organizations that I am not remotely interested in. At times it can leave me feeling defeated; as if I will never find a job that I believe will be a good fit – or worse yet, I begin to believe that I’m not a good fit for any organization/business.

This blog was started because I needed an outlet for my passion – clean water for those who don’t have access.

I am still just as passionate about this crisis and I refuse to let my skills and desire to help be wasted away because of my lack of confidence in my capabilities.

This job search has made me feel less confident in who I am and made me compare my skill set to everyone/anyone. But lo and behold, God always knows my heart and knows just what to “say”. When I read this verse today I knew I had to share it with you.

Romans 12:3
“For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you.”

Today I definitely didn’t think of myself “more highly that I ought”, but rather thought of myself just as God thinks of me: capable, wonderfully made, and filled with His peace.

So with that verse on my mind, I sat down at my computer and (boldly) I applied for a few jobs and contacted a few “Water organizations”. What have I got to lose?

I can’t stand living another week where I never follow my heart. My heart is for others. My heart is to apply my skill set to irradiating the water crisis. To give a voice for those who can’t be heard over the din.

I must continue to follow my heart. I must follow my passions and stop listening to my doubts. What are your passions and what is stopping you?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Erickson permalink
    January 17, 2012 10:43 am

    Psalm 139:14 – “I will praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made” This was what came to mind when I read your new post Jen. Another “word” for you this morning, Ephesians 2:10 – “For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God has prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.” In closing, you are the “apple of God’s eye, your Heavenly Father and also your earthly father (and Ma)! Love you Jen. Mom

  2. Lupe permalink
    January 17, 2012 11:40 pm

    What a beautiful reply Mary! You’re a great Ma!

    Jen, don’t give up! You will be placed where God wants you to serve.

Leave a Reply

