Skip to content

Speak Truth

January 11, 2012

I owe you an explanation.

In November I told you a little about Hiwot of El Olam in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. I was pretty excited to hear back from an organization, Girl Effect, who wanted to feature Hiwot and her work as the monthly featured organization on their website. El Olam was featured, but just not as December spotlight organization.

Here’s why:

I won’t go into details here, however, after doing more research and being in contact with a sister organization of El Olam here in the States on how potential donors could make donations, I was informed that there were certain events that had transpired with donations that concerned the sister organization; concerns that lead them to believe that El Olam wasn’t being as transparent and honest as they should be with donors funds.

I was deflated. I was on such an emotional roller coaster coming back from Ethiopia that upon hearing this news I went into a downward tailspin.

We are all human. We all make mistakes. And just because something is labeled “non-profit” or listed as a “Christian” organization doesn’t mean that there won’t be disappointments. I am learning this fact…the hard way.

With that being said, I also want to let you know that I am still in contact with El Olam. I have not closed the door. I will continue to reach out and find out ways I can be of assistance without donating money right now.

Project Wuha was started as a means for me to communicate to you about organizations with the water crisis. While this project, El Olam, isn’t necessarily “water” related it reminds me that I have the moral obligation to keep you up-to-date with information that I deem important (to speak the truth as I know it) and will allow you to stay plugged in with ways you can donate your time, money, or good will.

With every experience something can be learned. What have you dealt with lately that has made you take a step back, reevaluate, and press forward?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Erickson permalink
    January 11, 2012 1:29 pm

    Jen, I am reminded once again where to keep my eyes, on HIM and not on man. Your Dad once asked me, when I was disapointed in a chuch I had been attending if I was going to that particular church because I felt I was growing in my relationship with God or was I going because of the leaders of the church. I had to be honest, it started out because of my growing relationship with God but it had changed to following a person and when that person let me down, well you already know where this is leading. Much love, Mom

  2. January 11, 2012 2:37 pm

    Jen as always you are an inspiration through your willingness to be transparent. Don’t give up faith or your trust in the human spirit, its one of your best qualities. People or even causes can sometimes disappoint us, but they can also inspire us and surprise us. Thank you for sharing.

    • January 13, 2012 4:07 pm

      Thanks for the pep talk and for following. 🙂

Leave a Reply

