Skip to content

Guest Post: My Sister From Another Mister

November 27, 2011

I’ve been lazy. I blame the Alaskan cold and dark days. Actually, to be honest, I’m finding it hard to focus. However, my “sister from another mister”, Lauren (my sis-in-law) who traveled with me to Ethiopia has been writing about her experiences and this girl can write! Therefore, she has agreed to be a “guest” over here on Project Wuha and for the next few days I will be featuring her stories. Lauren is the most peaceful person I have ever been around. I wonder if that is why I can’t seem to focus or to sift through all my thoughts – I need Lauren’s cool, calm and collected demeanor to keep me straight.
Without further ado here are her words…

Reflections on Ethiopia: The Beginning

Is it just me or do you think it’s kind of weird that my sister-from-another-mister, Jen, who doesn’t know me very well and can count on one hand how many days we’ve spent in person, asked me to go to Ethiopia with her for one month?
We all thought it was weird. She did, my brother did, I did…but God told her to and she actually listened. I wanted to say “no thank you”, but the problem is that God had already been working on my heart to go to Africa months before. So I listened too.
And I’m so glad that I did. Now I have a sister that i’ve prayed/cried/ laughed my head off with, maybe even snapped at, poured my heart out to, and shared some of the most amazing experiences with. This is the kind of family I want. The miracle is that we still like each other, or at least i stilll like her(:
So not weird. Just God.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Erickson permalink
    November 27, 2011 10:36 pm

    Jen, thank you for posting Lauren’s writings, this is a great idea. I do want to comment however on your not being able to focus right now, just start to write whatever comes to your mind, let the Holy Spirit guide you. Keep in mind, Lauren came back home to what is familiar to her, her home and her friends. You have had many changes in a short period of time. I love you, Mom

    • lauren komatsu permalink
      November 28, 2011 2:39 am

      ditto to what your mom said! my head would be spinning if I’d gone through all you have. you are an awesome writer and I know God has lots of things to say through you. I wouldn’t have gone to Ethiopia or have anything to say unless it was for you “Jean”(:

  2. November 29, 2011 5:11 pm

    Hey Jen,
    Don’t spend too much time worrying or being anxious about not being able to focus. Maybe that’s the point. Maybe not focusing is what you are supposed to be doing right now.
    Savor it 🙂

Leave a Reply

