Skip to content

My Heroes

June 22, 2011

I watched this short documentary, The City of Addis, by Session 7 Media.

The City of Addis – A short documentary from Session 7 Media on Vimeo.

I felt so many emotions when I watched it. Memories flooded back from the time I traveled to Addis almost three years ago. The images of the buildings, cars, streets and the people made me smile. I could almost smell the air and hear the busy streets. I truly missed Addis and the people who are within its borders upon seeing the images.

Beyond the nostalgia, though, I was moved by the stories of the four projects that are taking place in Addis Ababa right now. I know of so many projects that are helping women get off the streets, street kid ministries, schools, and the list goes on. But it never ceases to amaze me how people are moved to make an impact in people’s lives *directly*. They are truly dedicated to breaking the cycle of abuse, of neglect, of hunger, of injustice.

I am in awe of these people and it gave me a moment to reflect on Tom and Teresa Rieder and Project Ethiopia. Their story is very similar in the fact that they have left their comfortable way of *American* living and have moved half-way across the world to live with people that they feel connected to and deeply love. I can get caught up in my day-to-day activities, but watching this 5:00+ minute video reminded me that living like Christ and allowing Him to change my life in such a radical way to live for others will be one of the greatest achievements in my life.

These four projects in this short video, to include Tom and Teresa Rieder of Project Ethiopia, are my heroes. I can’t thank them enough for loving and giving boldly for it inspires me to do the same.

Thank you to those who are changing the world simply because they see others how He sees them…

Click here if you want to be a part of Project Ethiopia.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2011 11:35 am

    Jen, Tom and Teresa might be your heros but you are mine. I read your blog and you inspire me. I want to just walk out my door and do something good for my neighbors. You’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

