Skip to content

A Time For Everything

April 6, 2011

I’ve been absent, haven’t I?

Much has happened in the past couple months:

* February 16-19 I attended a Health and Hygiene Training with Living Water International in Houston, Texas. It was so informative and I learned many practical things that I will be able to apply while in Ethiopia. My favorite part: Learning how to make a tippy tap. You have to watch the video. It is amazing the practical and most simple of things that we can do to prevent disease.

Tippy Tap - used for hand washing

Tippy Tap - used for hand washing



* My dad visited the first week in March. Just thought I would share since I think he is awesome!
* Matt celebrated his 34th birthday on March 9
*…and only a few short days later, on March 11, we heard the devastating news that a 9.0m earthquake had struck Japan and the resulting tsunami had destroyed the northeastern coast. Matt’s family was impacted by this event. His grandmother passed away from the tsunami and his uncle lost his small ship building business located in Kessennuma, Japan. There are so many more details, so much more pain then what you just read in those few sentences that every time I discuss it with those few sentences, it feels like I am robbing those who were impacted on how deeply this infiltrated their lives – Matt’s life and his family’s lives (who are my family now).

To be honest, it is hard to think of much else. Scratch that, it’s not hard to think about much else, but what is hard is to be as passionate as I was about certain things prior to the events of March 11. For instance, I had wanted to travel to Ethiopia this spring, but Lauren and I changed our plans and we both trusted God that he had better time in mind for us to travel. I was disappointed not to be able to go in the next couple months, but now I am so thankful that I don’t have this date of upcoming travel in the midst of the situation that my family is going through, to include Matt being overseas in Japan to assist with recovery efforts.

I prayed for God to pave the way for Tom and Teresa and to also pave the way for me to assist in any way that I possibly can with Project Ethiopia. Be careful what you pray for because God may just listen and do just what you asked Him to do! He was looking out for Lauren and me and went before us knowing that right now would not be a good time for us nor for Tom and Teresa. He has reminded me that there is a season for everything. He will make everything beautiful in its own time.

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8
There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven.
a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance.
a time to embrace and a time to refrain,
a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mary beth permalink
    April 6, 2011 7:59 am

    praying for you Jen. You will know when it is the right time. Just keep listening to God’s whispers.

  2. Lory Terbilcox permalink
    April 7, 2011 11:01 pm

    Jen know what a difficult time this is for you now. I can only hold all of you up in prayer whenever I think of you which is often each day. Love U

Leave a Reply

